The portal has been deactivated. Please contact your portal admin.

Video: Adding or Removing Students from a Class

In this video, we will show you how to add or remove students from existing classes.

03:45

Video Transcript

In this video, we will show you how to add or remove students from existing classes.

To add or delete students from a class, you must be a portal admin and be signed in to admins.nagwa.com.

If you haven’t yet learned how to create a class, feel free to go back and watch our dedicated video “Creating a Class as an Admin”.

For this video, we’ll assume you have one or more existing classes and you want to add or delete students from these classes.

There are two ways in which a student can be added to a class. When a student account is first created, you will be given an opportunity to add the new student to any existing classes.

If you have not yet created your class, or you simply want to manage your classes at a later date, you can do so from the “Classes” page.

On this page, you will see a list of all of the classes on your portal. On the right of the screen, each class will have a list of available actions.

To add or remove students, you first need to find the relevant class. In this case, we will pick (Algebra and Geometry). You can then click the “Edit Students” action, which will take you to the Class/Students Linking page.

From this page, you’ll be able to see a list of the students associated with the class. In order to add a new student, click anywhere in the “Students” box to see a drop-down list. This list will automatically show you a list of the students in the relevant grade.

Start typing the name of the student you wish to add, and the drop-down list should filter appropriately.

Once you can see the correct student, clicking the name will add them to the class. For this example, we can add (Sophia Salah) to the class (Algebra and Geometry). You can repeat this process to add multiple students to the class.

Once you are happy with the selection, remember to click the save button. This will update the class with your changes.

Congratulations! You’ve added students to your class!

It is worth noting that a student can be associated with any number of classes. This means that adding a student to one class does not remove them from another class.

Okay, but what if you want to remove a student from a class, or perhaps you’ve simply made a mistake and added the wrong student to a class?

Deleting a student from a class is a very similar process. Navigate back to the Class/Students Linking page by clicking the “Edit Students” action.

Looking at the list of students, you should be able to see a small “x” to the right of each student’s name. Clicking this “x” will remove the student from the class. Let’s delete the student we added to (Algebra and Geometry) earlier in this video.

For very large classes, you can use the search box to filter the list. Students who are assigned to the class will appear in the drop-down menu in gray. Again, clicking the student’s name in gray will remove them from the class.

Alternatively, you can use the order “Ctrl+F” (or “Command+F”, depending on your PC’s operating system) to search for the student’s name and click the “x” to remove them from the class.

Again, remember to click the save button once you’re happy with your changes.

As a final note, transferring a student between classes is as simple as deleting them from the old class and adding them to the new one.

Nagwa uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more about our Privacy Policy.